Home > Cold Hardy Tropicals, Hardy Colocasia's > Colocasia ‘Pink China’

Colocasia ‘Pink China’

Colocasia ‘Pink China’ is one of the hardiest elephant ears around. It is reportedly hardy to zone 6 and possibly zone 5. My ‘Pink China’ has only been through 1 winter and had only seen winter temperatures down to 2f, which is a low zone 7.

My Colocasia ‘Pink China’ grew to about 4-5ft, but can grow larger. Out of all the Colocasias that I grow, both hardy and non-hardy, ‘Pink China’ is the thirstiest. It seems to need water daily if temperatures are in the upper-80’s or hotter, but can make it every other day with lower temperatures. The stems that hold the leaves up is where this Colocasia gets its name from; the stem are pink. The stems are more pink depending on how much sunlight the plant gets. I have also noticed that this Colocasia likes to run with both below and above ground runners. I have it against a fence and it even began growing into the neighbours yard last summer.

 

Colocasia ‘Pink China’ 2010 Overview

 

‘Pink China’ 04 October, 2010

 

Colocasia ‘Pink China’ tubers 21 March, 2011

Winter Temperature Minimum

2010-2011: 2f

Growing Season

2010: April-07 November

2011: 29 April-

 

LAST UPDATED 03 MAY, 2011

 

  1. 17 January, 2011 at 5:05 PM

    What sort of winter treatment do these colocasias need to survive. I am near Lancaster, PA with similar weather as lexington, KY.

    Thanks,

    • Jake
      19 January, 2011 at 8:58 PM

      Hello! I have not grown them until this past spring so I have yet to see if they return. They should return because they are rated to zone 6 and the guy that developed them or discovered them has had them for the past 8 or 9 years lives in Louisville, KY and they have returned for him all those years. Louisville is only 70 miles to the west/northwest of me.

      My orginal plan was to just cut them down and then mulch over them once the first killing frost got them. What I did was cut them down and I covered them with my Musa Basjoo leaves that I had left over from cutting it down. Mulch should be sufficient I believe. This winter they have seen 2f twice and the other day when I felt them they were still solid in the ground so that means they are alive.

      If you have anymore questions then please let me know. I will be posting more in the future as stuff reappears or doesn’t. Thank you for reading my blog and come back.

      Jake

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

