Chances Of Survival?

So, I was finally able to get otuside and take some pictures of my palm tree’s and Loquat. I have no problem showing damage that has occured to my plants. Keep in mind most of these plants looked okay up until about a month ago and that is about when they had their spears pull(talking about the trachy’s here). I would just like to see what you guys think on their survival. These palms had no protection and saw a minimum low of 2f.

Needle Palm

 

 

 

 

Sabal minor #1

 

 

 

 

Windmill Palm #1

 

 

Windmill #2

 

 

 

Loquat

 

 

 

Sabal Brazoria

 

Sabal minor #2

 

What do you think their chances of recovery are? What do you think I could do to help the recovery along? I will defintely be protecting next year, whether it is for these plants recovered or new ones.

Thanks!

  1. 21 March, 2011 at 5:36 PM

    Jake,

    do not give up!

    I had similar dessication damage to my 13 year old Sabal minors that NEVER had any damage , even below 0f! It was a very dry and windy winter, only one night down to 7 , otherwise teens and 20’s. Seeing a lot of similar damage.

    Pour copper fungicide down center of each palm- be patient, wait till at least June before you toss any- you will be surprised.

    Nice blog, thanks for the update.

    Boca Joe

    • Jake
      21 March, 2011 at 5:39 PM

      Okay… Where do I get this copper fungicide? I think the wind is what caused most of the damage here as well.

      Thanks,

      Jake

  2. 25 March, 2011 at 3:37 AM

    Personally I would cut out the dead and wait to see what happens…you have me curious.

    • Jake
      26 March, 2011 at 8:57 AM

      Stayed tuned then…. Lol. Plus, we are suppose to get some snow tonight.

      Jake

  3. Cris
    1 April, 2011 at 12:07 PM

    I second the copper fungicide. Get it at garden centers – seed/farm supply stores.
    Also if there is no green visible, just cut the top off altogether, keep cutting a little more off until green appears. a new spear ought to appear from here. There is no point having rotten stuff blocking up the top of the plant.

    Yeah, young plants are no near as hardy as adult plants. New palms in the ground should be “babied” for 3 years at least.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

