Home > Cold Hardy Tropicals > It’s That Time of Year…

It’s That Time of Year…

… When the birds are chirping, the sun is rising higher and higher in the sky, the Crocus and Doffodils are blooming or about to bloom, and the dust is brushed off the garden old blog. Just cause I haven’t been posting, doesn’t mean I have forgotten about this favorite thing of mine. It has been a long, cold winter and I have missed communicating with all of you. While I don’t have a whole lot to show you at the moment, I do have something. More will be on the way fairly shortly I would say.

The warmest temps of  the year hit us this week. 70’s were common with 78f being the high Thursday and 82f on Friday. Our temps are being knocked back down and it may even get cold enough to snow by next Thursday and Friday, but we all know that it is getting to that point where there is no return to the cold for 7-8 months(longer or shorter depending on where you call home).

This wee I was happy to get a package from  Plant Delights Nursery out of North Carolina. Their plants are a bit expensive but they also seem to be of great quality and care. I ordered back in January two different banana tree’s. Musa sikkimenis ‘Bengal Tiger’ and Musa itenerans. I am very excited to have both and I can’t wait to get to plant them. I just have to wait for the ground to warm up a bit. Currently at 50f-60f for a ground temperature.

Musa sikkimenis ‘Begal Tiger’

 

Musa itenerans

 

I thought I would do a little update and let you know where I am at during this time of year. I already have most of the new beds made except for one. I jsut need to mulch another one. I can’t wait to get the 2011 season on and started.

Just so you know, I have added the “share” option if you are so inclined to share my post with anyone else. All you have to do is actually click on the message and the share will be at the bottom above the comments.

  1. 19 March, 2011 at 5:00 AM

    Those plants do look good. I see your starter pots in the background.

    • Jake
      19 March, 2011 at 11:23 PM

      Yeah, they have a random assortment of seeds that I hope will start growing soon.

  2. 21 March, 2011 at 8:55 AM

    Nice plants that you received. I also got a nice little package from Plant Delights and was very pleased with my new plants. They do have some nice unusual plants, and aren’t overly expensive.

    • Jake
      21 March, 2011 at 4:24 PM

      I still have some stuff that I would like to order from them. I am guessing I will wait though. Haha.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

