Still Here

Hello! It has been a longtime but I still do not have a new laptop but will be getting one soon. Not much has happened and this seems to be my downtime regardless of having a laptop or not. It has been a very cold and snowy winter here in Lexington this winter season. It has been cold and snowy since Black Friday when we recieved our first snowfall for the winter season. I am a snow lover and still would love a huge snowstorm here in Lexington but the cold has been making me want spring more and more everyday. I hate that it can be 30f and we get a nice snowfall and then the days to weeks after it we barely hit 20f if we do. I have enjoyed the constant snow cover and snow falling this season. Our coldest tempetures have been:

12/8….. 8f

12/9….. 9f

12/14… 5f

12/15… 2f*

12/19… 2f*

1/8……. 9f

1/9……. 3f

*= The coldest low of this winter season.

Winter started so quickly and between life and everything I wasn’t able to protect anything and that includes even giving a winter mulching to things. I used the Banana Tree’s leaves on themselves and some other stuff but that was it. This winter will defintely be a test for them to go through.

Number of highs since November 1 that have been at or below freezing: 19

I am actually surprised myself after looking at it because that isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. It seems more like 30 days so I will take and accept 19 days.

Anyway, here are some pictures that were taken on December 4. We had recieved 4.50″ of fresh powder!

Trachycarpus in Snow

 

Loquat in Snow

 

Needle Palm in Snow

 

I will try and get on here more often it just depends on when I can until I get my own laptop again.

  1. 15 January, 2011 at 8:30 AM

    Good gravy it’s been cold in your neck of the woods!

    • Jake
      15 January, 2011 at 11:25 AM

      Very! It is suppose to get colder and I am not looking forward to that. I just hope before we get to those temps we get a snowcover to insulate the plants and the ground cause they are talking negatives.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

