A Sole Survivor

30 September, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Back in April I decided that I would plant some Windmill Palm seedlings along my back fence. The little bit of field is ours to a point. After about a month I noticed that the field came up to the fence and was growing wild. I decided to take out all of the Windmill Palm seedlings. Back in August I decided that I would use Round-Up and tame the part that is our area so that next year I can plant what ever back there; any extra plants, etc. So I mowed it down and then used the Round-Up and then I mowed down the area again.

In mid-September I checked on it and I noticed that there was something green  close to the fence. I got down and inspected it and what did I see… A Windmill Palm seedling that I had forgotten apparently to dig back up. It has taken this very hot and dry summer with no extra care or fertilizer. It is a lighter green colour but it just recently with the cool weather put out a new “frond”. It hasn’t grown as much as my other taken cared for seedlings of course but it is a trooper. I do wonder what it will do during the winter? It will probably get snow drifts on it being close to the fence.

Here is what it has went through since being planted starting with May:

May………….10.91″ +6.89″, average high, 77f +2

June…………4.69″ +0.11″, average high, 86f +4

July………….4.72″ -0.09″, average high, 89f +3

August………1.77″ -2.00″, average high, 89f +4

September…0.55″ -2.56″, average high 84f  +5

5 month period….22.64″ +2.35″, average high 85f  +4

Obviously the wet May skews the period average. I do believe that the weeds and stuff growing over the seedling probably protected it from direct sunlight until recently. It really surprises me that the second Round-Up treatment when the palm was fully exposed did not kill the palm. Like I said it has actually grown some since these picture were taken.

Jake

  1. 1 October, 2010 at 8:46 AM

    and it survived the round-up! Dang, this plant has a purpose.

    • Jake
      2 October, 2010 at 4:35 PM

      I know. I sprayed right on it. Haha.

      Jake

  2. Jan
    2 October, 2010 at 8:06 AM

    I am always amazed at what plants can survive. The will to live is so strong.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    • Jake
      2 October, 2010 at 4:36 PM

      It is quite amazing when you sometimes have plants that are well taken care of die for no reason. Maybe the neglect made this plant stronger cause everything else around it died.

      Jake

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

