Japanese Holly Fern

23 September, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I saw this large fern at Lowe’s this spring and knew instantly that I had to have it. After I planted it is seemed to struggle but now it doesn’t even look back. It has gotten larger and continues to put out fronds. I am going to test it outside this winter. I read that it is evergreen but I don’t know what temperature that is down to and it is overall hardy to 10f. We will see how it does. It is right up against brick underneath the eaves, however this side of the yard last year really got huge snow drifts up against the house.

I love ferns and would like to use more in this area but they need to be able to take dawn to 2p sun. This side of the yard is almost out of the sun now by 11a which is a good thing as we are suppose to head towards the upper 90’s today. Could we beat our hottest temperature of the year so far that is 97f? Possibly with the ground being so dry and it is already 80f at 1026a.

  1. 23 September, 2010 at 9:48 AM

    We have so many ferns in our backwoods I have never really considered them in my gardens…they are such interesting specimens though. It is freaky hot here Jake.

  2. Jake
    24 September, 2010 at 2:09 PM

    We have been well into the 90’s all week here. That ends after today. It looks like we are going to go from this horror of a heat wave to pretty chilly. I just want it to rain and be cooler!

    Jake

  3. Jan
    2 October, 2010 at 8:05 AM

    My holly ferns have survived the rare hard freezes we get here. I know they have survived single digit temps (though not for days) and also at least three straight days of below freezing temperatures. Even last winter’s weather, which knocked back plants I have never had a problem with, did nothing to the holly ferns.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    • Jake
      2 October, 2010 at 4:34 PM

      Thanks for the information, I think mine will be okay. I have hyad a ton of people from Virginia that have said theirs take the cold. They are a tad warmer then us in Kentucky but I think mine will be able to survive. The Unofficial State Fern of VA I think. Haha.

      Jake

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

