Home > Blooms, Foliage, Hanging Basket's, Kentucky, Lexington, Winter Plantings > Fall/Winter Hanging Basket

Fall/Winter Hanging Basket

15 September, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

During Labour Day when the temperatures dropped, I decided that it was time to do something with an empty hanging basket. I was at Lowe’s and noticed that they had Ornamental Cabbage and Kale and Winter Pansies out. I bought some Pansies and Ornamental Kale and a ground cover called Creeping Jenny(I believe). I got the ground cover because it said that it was evergreen. There is also some Sedum ‘Angelina’ that I thought would look good hanging down the other side of the basket.

I know you are probably thinking that it is still too hot for me to be putting these out in a hanging basket. Don’t worry because I thought it out. The basket gets watered everyday and this time of year the sun doesn’t stay on that side of the yard doesn’t stay there long. Also most of our night lows are in the 50’s despite temperatures making it to the 80’s and low 90’s some days.

As you can see it is thriving so it must be in a good spot. It is nice to see the happy faces of the Pansies and the reminder form them that cooler weather is on the way. I can’t wait t see that Kale turn pink in the center either.

Jake

  1. 16 September, 2010 at 6:53 AM

    I’m ready to start planting fall flowers here too. That is Garlic Chives in my post.

    • Jake
      16 September, 2010 at 10:44 AM

      I haven’t planted any Pansies or anything in the gorund yet. I feel like the hot ground is something I cannot control no matter how much I water. I may just have to grow some of that Garlic Chives in my yard just as a plant.

  1. 22 September, 2010 at 5:44 AM

Leave a Reply

