Home > Cold Hardy Tropicals, Foliage, Growth > End Of August Tropicals

End Of August Tropicals

7 September, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Here are my best growing tropicals of 2010 at the end of August. I can only imagine with a month to a month and a half of growth left how tall or large they will get.

Colocasia ‘Pink China’

Colocasia ‘Big Dipper’

The Castor Bean… When the Castor Bean gets this large the plant seems to shed some leaves every month or so, this is the first time it has shed any leaves this year.

My Musa Basjoo and Chinese Yellow Banana. The fence is 6ft tall and as you can see they are taller trunks are now taller than that and their leaves are starting to go above the gutters. There are already baby Bananas in this bunch that are as tall or taller then the two main parent plants. Awesome, I have to say. They sure make a statement from the road which is what I wanted anyway, to make a statement.

  1. 7 September, 2010 at 6:57 AM

    Looks like these tropicals have made themselves at home, looks good. And you don’t want people swimming in your gardens? lol

    • Jake
      7 September, 2010 at 3:41 PM

      They sure have made themselves at home! What about people swimming in my gardens?

  2. skeeter
    9 September, 2010 at 6:52 PM

    Your Tropicals look very happy to call your place home! I lost my banana from last year but was lucky enough to dig out and keep two babys. They went into the ground this year but with little rain, they are not as large as the Mother Plant last year….

    Looking Good!

    • Jake
      10 September, 2010 at 5:28 PM

      My first Musa Basjoo hardly grew it’s first year in Kentucky in 2007. It came back in 2008 and by the end of May was already as tall as it ever had gotten in 2007. I then moved so I have no idea what happened to it. I figure this one hardly grew it’s first year in Florida and this year was a bit slow due to it being planted and so I expect much bigger growth next year.

      Thanks

  3. 16 September, 2010 at 3:01 AM

    Wow on the musa! It sure does make quite a statement!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

