Windmill Seedling Growth

Here is three pictures of a Windmill seed that I planted in January 2009. The first picture is the growth from about mid-January through April 18. The next two pictures is the same Windmill Palm seedling as of August 6. The palm this summer has grown tremdously. It has put out so far about six “fronds” and always as one waiting to start pushing out once the current one is done coming out.

Mid-January 2009 through April 18, 2009

April18, 2009 through August 11, 2010

15 months and 24 days of growth

Jake

  1. 11 August, 2010 at 2:06 PM

    Wow! It has grown so much. I am impressed at anyone who can start a palm from seeds. I have one of these here but a friend gave it to me. It is really growing a bit. I winter it over inside the garage. Will you leave yours outside or have you? It is supposed to be hardy I think to Zone 7 but I push the limits with microclimates.

    P.S. On the angel trumpets. Some years they winter over in the ground. This past spring saw almost everyone’s angel trumpet not return including mine. I started all of mine from cuttings in the fall. It is so easy to do with angel trumpets. If you know someone who has one ask for a snip and you’ll be set too. Just take cuttings to be sure you don’t lose it all.

    • Jake
      12 August, 2010 at 2:22 AM

      I plan on leaving the Windmill outside. I have multiple seedlings in the yard started at the same time that are smaller and I will leave them out. I also have a larger one that I just purchased and did not grow from seed that will be left out. I plan to only protect with burlap or cages. I would think your’s would be perfectly okay in a few years once it is larger.

      I actually haven’t seen one Angel Trumpet here in Lexington this year.

      • Jake
        12 August, 2010 at 2:23 AM

        I also forgot to say that Windmill Palm seeds are very east to germinate and are obviously rewarding because the grow so quickly.

  2. 12 August, 2010 at 5:46 AM

    Let me know how the palms do outside. I’ve been afraid to leave mine out but may try it. Mine grows in a pot. I did a post on the windmill palm. A blogging friend has a 20 foot tall one growing in her Raleigh garden. It is spectacular! She gave me the baby one I have. If you ever get to Nashville or so, let me know and I’ll give you an angel trumpet if you like.

    • Jake
      12 August, 2010 at 11:06 AM

      I for some reason was thinking you were in Georgia somewhere. Nashville does have some nice Windmill palms growing in it. You are a bit warmer in winter than I am in Lexington. I will let you know how mine do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

