Refreshing

Yesterday was very refreshing because there was no humidity and our high was only 83f with a breeze. I love it and hope we are headed towards more days like that. Today’s post is kinda just a mixed bag of goodies. I hope you guys are happy that I have posted a new post every day since Tuesday.

This is one of my favorite ornamental grasses that I was introduced to in Florida. It is Sandcord Grass. It has grown really well here this summer and I have read it can live in zone 6 or 7 which is exactly the two zones Lexington falls in between.  I can’t wait to see how it does.

Last summer this Loquat was only a foot tall and now look at it. It has grown so quickly in two years. I guess I will see how this does this winter. I am not sure. I read they can take zone 7 so it is an expiremeint. I would suggest them for an evergreen tree.

These are my three Mimosa seedlings that I started mid-June. I thought they were the plain green type but I think they are the red type. I lost most of the red seed or so I had thought. These have stayed red and are actually more  red now then they are in this photo. The green ones I have started from seed before were green the entire time.

If you are into pushing your hardiness zone with tropical plants or palms then I would recommend checking out this facebook group, The Rainforest Garden Facebook Group.

Jake

  1. 31 July, 2010 at 6:36 AM

    Nice growth on all of these!!

    • Jake
      31 July, 2010 at 8:53 PM

      They have been crazy!

  2. skeeter
    3 August, 2010 at 2:36 PM

    I live in zone 7 of Georgia and have a Loquat and it loves it here. It will bloom for you in late fall or early winter once it gets older. The blooms scent up the area and are nice. My loquat has really grown quickly so be aware of how close you have it planted to the house. I have seen them in botanical gardens and they are trained to go up besie a wall so maybe you it will be fine where you have it. Good luck with your Loquat 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

