Home > Blooms, Cold Hardy Tropicals, Foliage > As Midsummer Ends… Part II

As Midsummer Ends… Part II

Here is part II to my blooms.

As hot as it is I still have Pansies blooming like crazy in my front bed. That bed has sun from first morning light til 2p or 3p. I am just surprised because of all the 90’s and humidity we have had.

Viloas in the front bed are still blooming too. Crazy.

These Hosta’s came with the house. They looked like nothing special and were just green. The blooms are very nice though. They are fragrant and are a nice bright white. You can smell them when you walk past.

A unique looking Hosta with a purple and small but awesome bloom.

Here is a look at the purple blooming Hosta’s foliage. Anyone now what kind it is?

Dianella. This plant has been blooming since the spring when I planted it. I know in Florida it only bloomed during the fall and winter months.

Colocasia ‘Black Pearl’ with its second bloom. The pink Crepe Myrtle is blooming as well.

  1. 29 July, 2010 at 5:35 AM

    Those pansies will probably pop back up in the spring too. I love hostas…Your elephant ears are going to be swallowed up by that crape soon.

    • Jake
      29 July, 2010 at 11:19 AM

      You are right about everything. I didn’t think the Crepe would take over so soon. I think that it will be moved next spring.

  2. 29 July, 2010 at 5:00 PM

    Hi Jake, Wow on the pink rain lily. A garden club friend brought one to the meeting and it was oohed and aahed over appropriately. It is so very pretty. I’m amazed you have pansies still in Kentucky! Mine bit the dust a while ago with all the dryness we’ve been having. Watering seems to be all I do. I hope you’ve gotten some rain in your area.

    I was looking at your windmill palm below. I too have one and it is growing slowly. I have it in a pot though I think it is supposed to be hardy. I just hate to lose it. Do you dig yours up each winter? I saw one growing outside in Raleigh and it is like 20 feet tall on the southern side of a house. It was incredible.

    One more thing (I can be wordy). I looked for you on Blotanical. It might not be something you are interested in but then again it might be. It is a directory of garden blogs and I could not find yours there so thought I’d give you the tip about it. tina

    • Jake
      29 July, 2010 at 8:37 PM

      Hello there! The Pansy thing is a shocker because we have had almost everyday hit the 90’s which is not common for up here. Rain hasn’t been to scare except for the end of June and now the end of July. I have three Rain Lily’s but the other two won’t bloom.

      This will be the first winter for my Windmill Palm in Kentucky. I had it planted in Florida and it was established and growing well before I uprooted it. It is just now starting to produce new fronds. I only plan to put some burlap around it to protect it from the cold winter winds. It should do fine. There are Windmill Palms growing as far north as Nashville to NYC doing just fine.

      I use to be on Blotanical with my old Florida blog. I will have to get back on there. Thanks!

      Jake

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

