January 29-30 Snow Storm

Okay, so the snow storm ended up trending northward and we finally broke that 6″ barrier that Lexington constantly reaches, but never can break past. Our total comes in at 7″ from this little storm; not as much as I wanted, but I will take it. This storm was a big disappointment for those in Nashville, TN who were promised 10″ or more of snow from this. In reality they only received 4″-5″ before they switched over to ice and freezing rain.

The snow in the Lexington area had a very sharp cut off. The northwestern part of the Lexington area only received 2″ of snow. The totals went up as you headed southwest through the county where up to 7″ were seen. I am in the southwestern part of the Lexington area and I am happy about that, lol.

A Small Park in Lexington

That is a view from a hill where a Kroger Grocery Store sits and overlooks a small park that belongs to a neighborhood. Sorry, that the picture isn’t the best, it was taken with my cell phone, all I had with me. I will get some pictures of the snow tomorrow though for you guys. This part of Lexington only saw 5″-6″.

My weather source is saying that in February we will have plenty more snow storms here in Central Kentucky. He is also fairly confident that we have not seen our largest snow for this winter which as me very excited as much as I want to get started on my landscape.

All in all, I don’t think 13″ of snow is too bad for just the month of January. Do you?

Jake

  1. 31 January, 2010 at 7:22 AM

    That’s a lot of snow Jake!

    • Jake
      31 January, 2010 at 2:28 PM

      It is, but I would like more. : )

  2. 31 January, 2010 at 5:39 PM

    Hi Jake, we were a little disappointed, but the six inches we got was a ten year record breaker. The fact that it is still on the ground is amazing, and slightly annoying. The bulbs were coming up and there was a bud on the snowdrops! The witch hazel is blooming now too, in spite of the snow. Spring- snow- spring- snow, that’s the way of it. 🙂
    Frances

    • Jake
      31 January, 2010 at 7:04 PM

      I guess I just take for granted each time we receive six inches of snow. Although the reason why I’m not satisfied with seven inches is because we use to get feet easily in the winter from storms. 1998 was the last foot of snow in Lexington.

      Jake

  3. 2 February, 2010 at 1:50 PM

    Be careful what you wish for!

    • Jake
      2 February, 2010 at 5:47 PM

      So I hear, but so far wishing hasn’t brought us anything, lol.

      Jake

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

